From Cedar Falls to Cedar Rapids and Des Moines to Sioux City, there are thousands of miles of public roads traversing the state of Iowa with millions of licensed drivers using them daily. According to The Statistics Portal, there were more than 2,200,000 licensed drivers in the state of Iowa in 2015.
In a perfect world, every one of them would be conscientious whenever behind the wheel and would make it a point to remain alert at all times, but sadly, this is not the case. Drunk, distracted, and drowsy drivers caused more than 6,250,000 motor vehicle collisions in 2015 around the country.
At the end of the day, even the safest and most experienced drivers can find themselves in a serious accident, and the financial toll of recovering from the injuries they sustain can threaten their financial security. For this reason, the state of Iowa has mandatory minimum insurance requirements for all motorists.
When it comes to securing compensation following a crash, Iowa is a tort state, which means the at-fault party must cover the damages that the accident victims incur. Of course, even when the injured party has a valid claim, roadblocks are likely to arise along the way.
If you were hurt in a motor vehicle collision that was not your fault and the liable party’s insurance adjuster is refusing to work with you, contact Eells & Tronvold Law Offices, PLC. A compassionate Cedar Rapids injury lawyer will assess the details of the accident to determine if you may be eligible for compensation to cover medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Call 319-393-1020 to schedule a free case evaluation.
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements in Iowa?
Under Iowa Code 321, individuals who operate a motor vehicle in the state must have a certain amount of liability coverage. The minimum required auto insurance in Iowa are:
- At least $20,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person;
- At least $40,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident; and
- At least $15,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident.
There is also a minimum requirement of $20,000/$40,000 in uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage; however, you have the right to waive this coverage if you wish by signing the applicable form and returning it to the insurance provider. Since Iowa is a tort state, though, it is wise to invest in uninsured motorist coverage because you cannot rely on other drivers to have a valid insurance policy that will cover all the damages you incur following a collision.
Because car accident injuries can be costly to treat, it is also wise to consider purchasing more than the minimum coverage requirements. The exact cost of your policy will depend on a variety of factors, including the make and model of your vehicle, the age of every driver in your household, and your driving record. Fortunately, you can shop around to find the most affordable coverage for your budget.
If you were hurt in a car accident that was not your fault and the liable motorist’s insurance provider is refusing to work with you, contact Eells & Tronvold Law Offices, PLC. A seasoned Cedar Rapids personal injury attorney will negotiate with the opposing party on your behalf and may be able to help you secure the compensation you deserve.
Call 319-393-1020 to schedule a free consultation. You can learn more about car accident claims in Iowa by visiting the USAttorneys website.