According to WHO TV, a wrong-way crash in Cedar Falls earlier this month claimed the lives of three individuals who were all younger than 21. The collision occurred on Viking Road, and its underlying cause remains under investigation.
Authorities determined that an Acura Integra was traveling west when its motorist somehow lost control of the vehicle and crossed over the centerline. The car struck an eastbound Chevy Traverse head-on, and the force of the impact was devastating.
Responders pronounced two young adults and one minor—a 20-year-old man, a 21-year-old man, and a 16-year-old boy—dead at the scene. Another man, woman, and female minor also involved in the collision sustained injuries that required treatment.
If you were hurt in an accident with a wrong-way driver, you may be entitled to compensation for ambulance fees, hospital bills, lost wages, and emotional distress. To determine if you have grounds for a claim, turn to Eells & Tronvold Law Offices, PLC.
A Cedar Rapids injury lawyer can gather medical records, interview witnesses, and negotiate with the insurance adjuster so you can focus on your health. Call 319-393-1020 to schedule a free case evaluation.
How Long Do You Have to File a Wrongful Death Claim in Iowa?
If you lose a loved one in a preventable accident, your family has the right to hold the liable party financially accountable for the damages. These might include:
- Medical bills;
- Funeral and burial expenses;
- Lost income and benefits;
- Pain and suffering; and
- Loss of consortium.
In order to secure compensation for any of the above, though, you must file a successful wrongful death claim, and you only have a certain amount of time in which to do so. In the state of Iowa, for example, surviving family members must typically file a lawsuit against the liable party within two years of the death.
Although there are some exceptions to this statute of limitations, it is fairly rigid and applies in most circumstances. Thus, if you wait more than 24 months to bring a claim, the court will likely throw out the case.
Who Can Bring a Wrongful Death Claim in Iowa?
Only certain individuals and surviving family members can file a wrongful death claim in the state of Iowa. This includes:
- The administrator of the deceased’s estate;
- The spouse of the deceased;
- The adult children of the deceased; or
- The parents of the deceased.
Does Iowa Award Punitive Damages in Wrongful Death Claims?
Although it is possible to recover punitive damages by filing a wrongful death suit, doing so is not a given. In order to receive punitive damages, you must be able to prove that the defendant’s actions were especially egregious or grossly negligent.
If you lost a loved one in a head-on collision and want to sue the liable party, contact Eells & Tronvold Law Offices, PLC today. Call 319-393-1020 to schedule a free consultation with an injury attorney in Cedar Rapids. If you want to learn more about wrongful death claims in Iowa, visit the USAttorneys website.